HomeРазвлеченияRelated VideosMore From: Detail Comics

Did Netflix & Millar Make Magic With Their First Comic? (The Magic Order #1 Review)

116 ratings | 2267 views
The Magic Order #1 is the first comic book to be released from the now Netflix owned Millarworld. Is this just an adult version of Harry Potter or is there something more? ------- Subscribe here: http://bit.ly/2DC8sgM Looking for comics? Check out my growing list of recommended reading and support the channel: https://www.amazon.com/shop/detailcomics Follow on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/DetailComics/ Catch up on Twitter: https://twitter.com/EvolutionOfStan Check out the website: https://detailcomics.com/ ------- One of the largest announcements in comics last year was the purchase of Millarworld by Netflix. At first it just seemed like they wanted his already established creations so they could adapt them into TV shows or movies. However, the announcement of The Magic Order, written by Mark Millar and art by Olivier Coipel, was very refreshing. Not only would Millar continue to produce new comics, but he would have the support of Netflix, and with the release of a trailer that has more than 500,000 views, it was clear that the comic landscape may have changed. Focused on the magicians that defend us from the dangers beyond our perception, The Magic Order issue #1 takes things in a dark direction and doesn't turn back. iRate Reviews is the show where I go over specific comic books from my pickup that deserve to be talked about and review them in a little bit more depth. This doesn't mean that they are always good though. Some comics are lessons in what NOT to do.
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (22)
Comics Misexplained (6 months ago)
I really like the dark nature of it and am excited for the next one. Art was great and the story is fine. We can already deduce some stuff that might happen next but hoping it'll continue to be a fun ride.
Wolf Warner (7 months ago)
I want to see where this goes
Tevya Smolka (7 months ago)
great review man
Tevya Smolka (7 months ago)
your welcome man
Detail Comics (7 months ago)
Thanks!
Michael Brice (7 months ago)
I think I’ll read this one in trade. Art looks amazing. Awesome review!
Pablo Martinez (7 months ago)
The Magic Order is a very cool concept for someone like Mark Millar to execute at this point in his carrer; I'll keep reading this and see where it's going. The trade I would buy just on the artwork alone.
Detail Comics (7 months ago)
No kidding. Anything Coipel is on has my money.
Lewis Velez (7 months ago)
I don't understand how comic books could take the property off of Netflix and I also don't understand how Netflix could take it back from the comics and make a Netflix streaming show out of it it's a bit confusing I just need an explanation and I kind of didn't really like the dark and gritty moments I would've preferred more bright pages
Roy Stalin (6 months ago)
+Detail Comics Maybe we'll get Starlight or a Jupiter's Circle show out of this.
Detail Comics (7 months ago)
Basically, with the purchase of Millarworld, Netflix has the rights to properties created by Millarworld (which was primarily a comic publishing house, but has licensed multiple properties for film). They can publish the stories as comics and if they succeed in that medium, or work thematically, they can then be converted into a Netflix show or original movie. They probably won't adapt Netflix series into comic books though, so the relationship is kind of one way.
Pablo Martinez (7 months ago)
The reason is because Millerworld is now a company Netflix will use to bring new concepts from it and possibly become properties for film and TV on Netflix. Just my two cents.
eon001 (7 months ago)
Seems interesting, but I can't help but feel the Magicians on Syfy has kinda covered this kind of adult magic stories.
Byamba (3 months ago)
lol syfy please let netflix do it right
MrMike11233 (6 months ago)
If it turns out Stan has been binging The Magicians I'm going to laugh.
Detail Comics (7 months ago)
**Adds it to my Netflix queue**
MrMike11233 (7 months ago)
It's a good series.
Detail Comics (7 months ago)
I don't have cable so I haven't watched The Magicians yet. Luckily it just happens to be on.....Netflix, which seems to be the place for magic stories these days.
Live To Rock (7 months ago)
Probably the most enjoyable Millar book I've read, Coipel's art helps a lot. Those pages with Cornelia were my favorite
Detail Comics (7 months ago)
She is probably the most interesting character so far, which I hope was intentional. I want to see Gabriel come back into the fold, since he was "the best, except when it mattered" and then have the family screw up (Cornelia) save the day.
MrMike11233 (7 months ago)
There was so much hype surrounding this title that I had to get it. I pretty much agree with your take on it, Stan. The art is remarkable and the book right away lets you know it's aimed at a more mature audience. That said, blood and expletives will only take you so far. I can tell already that our reluctant wizard will, in fact, be dragged back into the "family business" whether it takes the form of loss of loved ones, or something else. I wasn't turned off by the book; neither was I grabbed, like I was by Immortal Hulk. It remains, for now, on my pull list.
Detail Comics (7 months ago)
If you're a fan of creative media in general (Movies, tv, music, comics, etc) you can easily see parallels between a lot of established stories. I really hope there is a unique spin on it, to make it feel a bit more original. Lot's of potential in the art, but the story needs to execute.

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.