HomeЛюди и блогиRelated VideosMore From: Coin Metallurgist

Coin Related plugable USB Digital Microscope Review

117 ratings | 7392 views
This digital microscope by plugable claims a magnification range of 60x-250x. It has a 2.0 megapixels camera. The software is basic but easy to use. Overall I am pretty happy with it. At the end are photos of three 1955 D/S Jefferson Nickels and two 1909 V.D.B. Lincoln Cents that I took with this microscope. I'm still learning how to use it but it seems to have a lot of potential use. Thank you for supporting my channel by liking, commenting, and subscribing! Already a subscriber? Click the bell icon to get notified about every new video I post. Have something you would like to send to me? Want to see me open it on video? Here is my address: Coin Metallurgist P.O. Box 51412 Idaho Falls, ID 83405 Follow me on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/CoinMetallurgist/ eBay Store: https://www.ebay.com/str/coinmetallurgist If you ever need to send me a private message, you can reach me at: [email protected] Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/coin_metallurgist/ Twitter: https://twitter.com/CoinMetallurgi1
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (32)
Dodi Womack (1 month ago)
The company name is Pluggable. Device is: USB 2.0 Digital Microscope. I just read it off of the box. I just got one 2 days ago. I've never used anything like this before and I was looking at a coin with it in under 5 minutes. On Windows 10. Yes you can turn the light off. You can use it handheld. It does NOT work for Mac. (Carson makes one almost like it that does) Yes, you can look at whole coins. Great product for the price. Why spend more? This has only 2MP, no instruction manual in print or online. I would love for someone who understands digital imaging better than I do to do a tips and tricks, how-to video.
adrienne chester (1 month ago)
Can you post a link? What's it called on Amazon? Does it work for al computers
Janet Bick (2 months ago)
Just received one last week . It has passed every preliminary test I have put it thru so far . Your review sold me on it and I can’t possibly thank your enough .
Irma Sotak (1 month ago)
Can you please tell me the brand name! Thank you!
David Ellsworth (2 months ago)
You never showed a full coin. I want to be able to take a picture of a silver dollar or half dollar - full size. There is no information anywhere about how large an image can be produced with this microscope. I am impressed with the resolution. Any idea what the actual resolution is? 5mp, 10mp? Is the software all that is needed to make the scope operational with my computer?
Dale Hammond (3 months ago)
Does it work with Windows 10? Does the scope tilt? Thanks, great review.
Dale Hammond (3 months ago)
+Coin Metallurgist Thanks, I did order it. After watching several videos I realized it's the right one for me.
Coin Metallurgist (3 months ago)
I use it with windows 10. It does tilt.
John Gun (3 months ago)
Thank you for honest review. Can LED lighting be turned off for natural light pictures/video ?
MrDunger99us (3 months ago)
I get it, you are a coin collector, not the reviewer :) what is the model number and name please ?
Media Guy (3 months ago)
It would have been logical and very helpful if you posted a link to the item reviewed. Another then that good review.
ascarta (3 months ago)
This is cool, I might order one for my mom, she is unable to enjoy coin collecting as her eyes are making things to hard to see
HD shovel Ed (5 months ago)
Why is it I can never hear anyone voice until I put volume at full?
Marina Huber (6 months ago)
What is the brand and model?
Daniel Collins (6 months ago)
Oh my god you talk way to much.
Coin Metallurgist (6 months ago)
Noted.
Randall M (6 months ago)
Nice job on the video! I'm not going to subscribe, though...as I already did that long ago. Be blessed 👊
Randall M (6 months ago)
Follow-up... ...I've got it all set up and it's really fantastic! I acquired this for inspecting error/variety cents. A little tip for anyone new to coin searching: This device is perfect for checking for errors, doubled dies, re-punched mint marks, etc., but do not use this device to estimate what grade a coin may receive upon submission. You want to stick with a high quality (but low power) magnifier for that purpose...something around 7x to 10x. If you were to use this to determine grade, you will see fine scratches and defects that would be ignored by the grading companies, since this features such strong magnification. In other words, this is major overkill for determining grade, as it shows far too much detail, and inspecting any coin under such intense magnification is going to make even the highest grade coin appear to be a low grade coin. I hope this makes sense. Just my sincere and humble opinion.
Randall M (6 months ago)
+Coin Metallurgist - Hope your weekend's been a good one. I'm ordering this item tonight! Peace.
Coin Metallurgist (6 months ago)
Thanks!
bill betz (8 months ago)
I own this one, it does great job,
Jodie Matthews (4 months ago)
where did u get & how much
TeeTime2010 (9 months ago)
Can you zoom out enough to take a picture of the hole coin?
Coin Metallurgist (9 months ago)
Kind of. You have to adjust the camera to be higher up and then readjust the focus.
Cory W (1 year ago)
I wish I had seen this before I bought mine. It does the job, but it could be better.
Jodie Matthews (4 months ago)
+Coin Metallurgist where did u get & bout how much do u have a link ?
Cory W (1 year ago)
Coin Metallurgist I got a different one.
Coin Metallurgist (1 year ago)
Did you get one like mine or a different one?
Silver Bean Counter (1 year ago)
Oh wow, cool device!
carl cotton (1 year ago)
I ordered on from Amazon right after I watched your video,  $34.95
I have the same plugable. It's my first one well actually I got one for my phone but it was hard to use for me. Not that steady. I have trouble getting the entire coin in the picture but overall I like it. Thanks for shearing. I just search coins, I don't make videos.
RavenHawk Coins (1 year ago)
nice clean pics. :-)

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.